In Uncategorized

Sahl Hasheesh – The Binational Fulbright Commission in Egypt (BFCE) hosted a three-day meeting from December 10 to 12, 2020 at the Baron Palace Hotel in Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada. The event was held under the auspices of BFCE Board Chair and Deputy Minister for Higher Education (MOHE), Dr. Ayman Ashour and was attended by 25 university Presidents and 6 university Vice Presidents. University leaders were joined by Professor Yasser Refaat, Deputy Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Professor Anwar Ismail, Assistant to the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Professor Hesham Farouk, Assistant to the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research and Professor Mohamed Hashem, President of the National Research Center.

The discussion was led by Professor Harris Pastides, Former President and Distinguished President Emeritus of University of South Carolina (USC). Professor Harris Pastides served as 28th President of USC. During his eleven-year tenure of this flagship system comprised of eight institutions and over 50,000 students, the Honors College, undergraduate and graduate international business, public health, engineering, and nursing programs were top ranked. He was in the inaugural class of the Fulbright Global Changemaker Awards. He has served as a Trustee with the Universities Research Association, as a member of the US Council on Competitiveness, on various committees of the National Institutes of Health and the National Academies of Science, and on the Executive Committee of the Association of Public Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (formerly NASULGC). While USC president, Professor Pastides chaired the NCAA Division I Board of Directors and the Southeastern Conference. In 1998, Professor Pastides arrived at USC as Arnold School of Public Health dean, and later served as USC’s vice president for Research and Health Sciences. Prior to his arrival at USC, he was professor and chairman of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he served as an advisor to the WHO Global Program in Environmental Health.

The Fulbright Commission in Egypt was established in 1949 through an initiative of the late Senator J. William Fulbright to “bring a little more knowledge, a little more reason, and a little more compassion to world affairs.” BFCE is the largest and oldest Fulbright Commission in the Arab World and the Middle East and North Africa region. BFCE has awarded study, travel, research and teaching grants to over 7,000 Egyptians and 1,000 Americans over the last seventy years.

The following prominent participants were welcomed by Dr. Maggie Nassif, Executive Director of the BFCE joined by the Fulbright team. (names are in alphabetical order):

Professor Abdelaziz Konsowa, President of Alexandria University

Professor Abdelaziz Tantawy, President of New Valley University

Professor Abdelrahman Zekri, Vice President of Cairo University

Professor Abdelrazek Desouky, President of Kafr ElSheikh University

Professor Adel Mubarak, President of Menoufia University

Professor Ahmed Aziz AbdelMoneim, President of Sohag University

Professor Ahmed Gaber Shedid, President of Fayoum University

Professor Ahmed Ghalab, President of Aswan University

Professor Ahmed Mohamed Bayoumi, President of Sadat City University

Professor Ashraf Abdelbaset Bakr, President of Mansoura University

Professor Ashraf Hussein, President of King Salman International University

Professor Ayman Mohamed Ibrahim, President of Port Said University

Professor Ebeed Saleh, President of Damanhour University

Professor Elsayed Daadour, President of Damietta University

Professor Elsayed Sharkawy, President of Suez University

Professor Essam ElKordi, President of Alalamain University

Professor Ezzeldin Soliman, Vice President of Arish University

Professor Gamal Helmy ElSaeed, President of Benha University

Professor Ghada Shaker, Vice President of Zagazig University

Professor Magda Mohamed Hagras, Vice President of Suez Canal University

Professor Maged Negm, President of Helwan University

Professor Mahmoud Ahmed Zaki, President of Tanta University

Professor Mahmoud ElMeligy, Vice President of Mansoura University

Professor Mansour Hassan, President of Beni Suef University

Professor Meawad ElKholi, President of New Mansoura University

Professor Mohamed Abdelfattah ElSherbini, Vice President of Al-Azhar University

Professor Mohamed Mahgoub, President of Luxor University

Professor Mostafa Abdelnaby, President of Minia University

Professor Mostafa Youssef ElNaggar, President of Matrouh University

Professor Tarek ElGammal, President of Assuit University

Professor Youssef Gherbawy, President of South Valley University


Recent Posts
Contact Us

Get in touch with us, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.