The Fulbright Legacy

J. William Fulbright was born in Missouri in 1905. He was educated at the University of Arkansas and at Oxford University, where, as a Rhodes Scholar, he earned an M.A. degree.

Fulbright was elected to the U.S. Senate in 1944 and served there from 1945 through 1974. In 1949 he became a member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and from 1959 to 1974 he was its chairman, the longest serving chairman of that committee in history. Fulbright became one of the most influential and best-known members of the Senate. In 1963 Walter Lippman said, “The role he plays in Washington is indispensable. There is no one else who is so powerful and also so wise?” Today he is best remembered for the legislation establishing the Fulbright Program, which passed without debate in 1946. The first participants traveled in 1948. Since then more than 310,000 “Fulbrighters” have participated in the program.

Of all of the joint ventures in which we might engage, Fulbright later said of the program,”the most productive is educational exchange Educational exchange can turn nations into people, contributing as no other form of communication can, to the humanizing of international relations.

The Mandate

The Binational Fulbright Commission in Egypt was established in 1949, and is the oldest and largest Fulbright program in the Arab world. It was created through a protocol between the Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the U.S. State Department. Governed by eight Directors of its Board, there are four Egyptian and four American Board members. Since 1949 nearly 7,000 scholars have been American Fulbrighters in Egypt or Egyptian Fulbrighters in the United States. The Commission’s mandate is to cultivate mutual understanding through educational exchange. We do so, one Fulbrighter at a time, so that every Fulbrighter is better prepared to pursue what Senator J. William Fulbright called the “essence of intercultural education: empathy, the ability to see the world as others see it, and to allow for the possibility that others may see something we have failed to see….”

Commission Core Values







Fulbright Commission in Egypt Staff



  • Ms. Ranya Rashed
    Ms. Ranya Rashed Director of Programs
  • Mr. Asser Hany Senior Program Officer
  • Ms. Iman Jamal Senior Program Consultant
  • Ms. Noha Salah
    Ms. Noha Salah Assistant Program Officer
  • Mr. Raheem Mikhail Assistant Program Officer
  • Ms. Reem Alfred
    Ms. Reem Alfred Assistant Program Officer
  • Ms. Mai Ayad
    Ms. Mai Ayad Assistant Program Officer
  • Nourhan Ahmed
    Nourhan Ahmed Intern
  • Ms. Farida Bakry
    Ms. Farida Bakry Assistant Program Officer


  • Mr. Ashraf Ismail
    Mr. Ashraf Ismail Finance Manager


  • Ms. Nermin Fikry
    Ms. Nermin Fikry Senior Admin Officer
  • Mr. Khaled Selim
    Mr. Khaled Selim IT Officer
  • Mr. Hisham Farid
    Mr. Hisham Farid Admin Assistant
  • Ms. Maria Samuel
    Ms. Maria Samuel Administrative Assistant
  • Ms. Manal Faress Operation Officer
  • Mr. Ramez Girgis Assistant Operation Officer
  • Ms. Sandra Fahmy
    Ms. Sandra Fahmy Operation Officer

Members of the Board

  • Dr. Amr A. Adly
    Dr. Amr A. Adly Deputy Minister

    Higher Education & Scientific Research for Universities Affairs

  • Ms. Helen Lafave
    Ms. Helen Lafave Minister Counselor for Public Affairs

    U.S. Embassy – Cairo

  • Dr. Mohamed Lotayef
    Dr. Mohamed Lotayef Secretary General

    Supreme Council of Universities

  • Ms. Katie Donohoe
    Ms. Katie Donohoe Director

    Office of Education and Training
    United States Agency for International Development (USAID)/Egypt

  • Mr. Raymond R. Miller
    Mr. Raymond R. Miller Founding Partner – rmc

  • Dr. Camilia Sobhy
    Dr. Camilia Sobhy Head of Cultural Affairs and Missions Sector

    Ministry of Higher Education

Contact Us

Get in touch with us, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.