Fulbright Commission in Egypt Hosts the 5th Egyptian University Leadership Program

 In Uncategorized

Sahl Hasheesh, Hurghada – The Binational Fulbright Commission in Egypt (BFCE) hosted the 5th edition of the Egyptian University leadership Program (ULP) led by BFCE Board Chair, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, H.E. Professor Mohamed Ayman Ashour.

The Commission was honored with the participation of BFCE Board members, Professor Mostafa Rifat, Secretary General of the Supreme Council of Universities, and Mr. Raymond R. Miller, Founding Partner at rmc – raafat miller Consulting.

The event launched the anniversary celebrations of the establishment of the Fulbright Program in Egypt in 1949, commemorating 75 years of collaboration and cross-cultural and academic exchange between Egypt and the United States.

This year also marks the 5th iteration of the ULP which, since 2018, has been bringing together higher education leaders in Egypt in discussions with American speakers on important topics including the development of higher education in the global context, technology management, crises management, and the interrelations between universities and their local communities.

The event was attended by 27 public and national university Presidents and 1 university Vice President. University leaders were joined by: Professor Yasser Refaat, Deputy Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research; Professor Abdelwahab Ezzat, Secretary General of the Supreme Council of Private Universities; Professor Maher Mesbah, Secretary General of the Supreme Council of National Universities; Professor Diaa Khalil, President of the Innovators Support Fund; Professor Ahmed ElSabbagh, Advisor to the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research for Technical and Technological Education; Professor Walaa Sheta, President of the Science, Technology, and Innovation Funding Authority; Professor Hussein Darwish, President of the National Research Center; Professor Gina ElFiky, Acting President of the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology; Professor Ayman Farid, Assistant to the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research for Strategic Planning and Employability; and Professor Mohamed Al-Sharkawy, Assistant to the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research for Economic Policies and Affairs.

The discussion was led by Professor Foster Aryi Agblevor, alumnus of the Fulbright Distinguished U.S. Scholar Program to Egypt and Utah Science Technology and Research (USTAR) Endowed Professor of Biological Engineering and Director of Bioenergy Center at Utah State University, and. This year’s edition was titled “Lab to Market: Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Employment” and discussed strategic planning for transformative and impactful research, developing research parks to catalyze the economy, entrepreneurship and small businesses, and assessing the impact of research innovations, building on successful case studies from different countries.

The following prominent participants were welcomed by Dr. Maggie Nassif, Executive Director of BFCE joined by the Fulbright team. (Names are in alphabetical order):

  • Professor Abdelaziz Tantawy, President of New Valley University
  • Professor Abdelrazek Desouky, President of Kafr El-Sheikh University
  • Professor Ahmed Akawy Abdelaziz, President of South Valley University
  • Professor Ahmed ElMinshawy, President of Assiut University
  • Professor Ahmed Farag ElKassed, President of Menoufia University
  • Professor Ashraf Heniegal, President of Suez University
  • Professor Ashraf Hussein, President of King Salman University
  • Professor Ayman Mahmoud Othman, President of Aswan University
  • Professor Ayman Mohamed Ibrahim, President of Port Said University
  • Professor Elhamy Tarabees, President of Damanhour University
  • Professor Elsayed Kandil, President of Helwan University
  • Professor Essam ElDin Farahat, President of Minia University
  • Professor Essam ElKordi, President of Alamain University
  • Professor Hamdy Hussein Shahat, President of Luxor University
  • Professor Hassan Abdelmoniem ElDemerdash, President of Arish University
  • Professor Hemdan Rabie ElMetwally, President of Damietta University
  • Professor Khaled ElDarandly, President of Zagazig University
  • Professor Mahmoud Ahmed Zaki, President of Tanta University
  • Professor Mahmoud AlSaid Abdelrahman, Vice President of Cairo University
  • Professor Mansour Hassan, President of Beni Suef University
  • Professor Meawad Elkholy, President of New Mansoura University
  • Professor Mohamed Diaa Zien El-Aabdien, President of Ain Shams University
  • Professor Mohamed Elshinawi, President of Galala University
  • Professor Mostafa ElNaggar, President of Matrouh University
  • Professor Nasser El-Gizawy, President of Benha University
  • Professor Nasser Mandour, President of Suez Canal University
  • Professor Sherif Khater, President of Mansoura University
  • Professor Yasser Hatata, President of Fayoum University
Recent Posts
Contact Us

Get in touch with us, and we will get back to you as soon as possible.